This is how your Instagram search ranks your suggestions

tips

babe  • 

This is how your Instagram search ranks your suggestions

Instagram algorithm working its magic all day

The Instagram search bar is made for those who say they're doing "research" — but in all honesty, the Instagram search is really for people who lurk online to troll their ex's new bae and to find out which Kardashian is having another baby. With this guide to how your Instagram search is ranked, you'll have a better idea as to who to cut out of your life and how to kick them out of your mentions.

Get real relationship advice from babe’s community of real girls with our paid membership

Babe universe is our community of real girls just like you where you can ask any question in a safe space and get instant, personal replies to your problems.

The Instagram search tracks who you've stalked before

Image may contain: Word

The Instagram algorithm under your Instagram suggestions is all pretty basic because the suggestions are based on who you've searched before. It basically means that whoever's handle shows up at the top of your suggestions list is someone you've searched an unnatural amount of times and/or share many of the same photo likes.

You can delete your Instagram search history, but your search history won't delete you

Image may contain: Label, Text

If you want to delete all of you stalkees, you go to the search bar and whatever recent or suggested accounts pop up can be hidden by tapping and holding the account name until you can hide the person. This, however, doesn't rid you of them because you've only chosen to hide them — they're most definitely still there.

Despite having deleted them from your suggested Instagram search list, you'll see other suggested accounts when you click the search bar at a later time.

Essentially, Instagram will stalk you

The Instagram algorithm for search suggestions isn't solely based on how often you look for a specific account. Even after you've deleted search suggestions, the app will use whatever similarities it found before you deleted any Instagram seach history to make those accounts reaapear in other ways.

If your account is linked to Facebook, your Facebook friends suggestions will pop up under "who to follow' after following any new accounts. If accounts have commented on your photos, those randos may also appear in your suggested Instagram searches as well. So if your ex bf or ex bff is still trying to publicly gain your attention and affections, they will reappear in your search suggestions too. So get to blocking my girl.

Instagram considers your hashtags, types of content and location, too, so depending on how desperate you are to remove someone from your life online, you may have to leave town altogether.

@aribines

original video by

b